6: Prisoners Review

Prisoners

“Be prepared for the worst, but hope for the best.” – Keller Dover (Jackman)

Starring Jake Gyllenhaal, Hugh Jackman, Terrence Howard. Directed by Denis Villeneuve.

Production Budget: $46 Million – Opening Weekend Gross: $20.8 Million

 

 

 

 

Ratings

Rotten Tomatoes: 81%

MetaCritic: 74/100

Lazy Goomba: 8.4/100

 

Plot Summary

Keller Dover (Jackman) is faced with every parent’s worst fear: When your child goes missing. His six year old daughter, Anna, and her friend, Joy, vanish after going outside to play. As the days pass, panic sets in for Dover. It also begins to weigh on Detective Loki (Gyllenhaal), the man assigned to find out where the girls are, as he scrambles to fit all the puzzle pieces together. But with the constant thought that his daughters life is at risk, will Dover have to take things into his own hands?

Lazy Goomba’s thoughts

The Good: Well to be honest I really love thrillers and movies that keep you guessing. This is definitely one of those movies. There were many surprises throughout the film, which is what I find very interesting in movies. In this day and age, every story has been made, and on the movie screen it just gets told in a different way, so you still usually know what might be coming next despite not knowing specifics. In this movie I didn’t really know what was going to happen, and definitely didn’t expect what DID happen. That’s always an admirable trait in a movie, in my opinion.

The Bad: I can’t really point out many negatives about this movie. This part of my review is always hard, because I will usually choose movies I would most likely enjoy watching… So only on the off chance I might not enjoy the movie I am watching. But I digress, the one negative, I suppose, is when they first take off the cloth of the boy they had been beating (leave names out to avoid spoilers) from his face, and it was just beat to a pulp. That scene was messed up!

The Creepy: This movie also had this creepy and eerie feel to it, which made the hairs on your neck stand up. Lots of psychopaths involved and not to mention a really freaky scene with snakes, which made me jump a little bit. Overall I really did enjoy this movie.

 

 

Lazy Goomba
Movie Critic/Cat Enthusiast
Leave a Reply

