5: Bad Grandpa Review

Bad Grandpa

Alex Mitchell Poses in three photos while wearing an old man mask. (Photo by Luke Geddes/SAIT Polytechnic)

Alex Mitchell Poses in three photos while wearing an old man mask. (Photo by Luke Geddes/SAIT Polytechnic)

“I’m 86 years old!” – Irving Zisman (Knoxville)

Starring Johnny Knoxville and Jackson Nicoll, Directed by Jeff Tremaine

Production Budget: $15 Million — Opening Weekend Gross: $32 Million.

Ratings

Rotten Tomatoes: 60%

Meta Critic: 54/100

Lazy Goomba: 7.7/10

Plot Summary

Eighty-six-year-old Irving Zisman (Knoxvile) goes on a crazy journey with his companion and eight year old grandson Billy (Nicoll). This is from the creators of Jackass, bringing you along as they prank and mess with audiences around the world on hidden cameras.

Lazy Goomba’s Thoughts

The Good: Well this is just like the Jackass movies from before, so most people can know what to expect. I find most of the skits from those movies, along with the new Bad Grandpa film to be extremely entertaining. My favorite prank that they perform is when Johnny Knoxville goes into an African American strip club on ladies night. Essentially there is only guys dancing erotically for the females at the club. Johnny goes in as an old man and chats with some of the ladies before eventually stripping down himself, revealing a rather…. lengthy set of… balls…. But nonetheless, it was a hilarious scene and the biggest roar of laughter came from that moment.

The bad: I didn’t find too many negative scenes in this movie that I can remember too clearly. I felt like one of the scenes was a little bit scripted, but really I have no proof of that so I feel like I can’t count that as a negative. Overall, it can be slightly immature sometimes, but I loved pretty much every skit within the film, so I suppose I am an immature person then.

The “painful”: My favorite scene is when Johnny Knoxville tries to ride the little kid airplane ride. He goes soaring right into the department store in front of him.

Lazy Goomba
Movie Critic/Cat Enthusiast
Leave a Reply

