4: Gravity Review

Gravity

A cool picture a got of a meteor shower. (Photo by Luke Geddes/SAIT Polytechnic)

A cool picture a got of a meteor shower. (Photo by Luke Geddes/SAIT Polytechnic)

“Houston, I have a bad feeling about this mission.” – Matt Kowalski (Clooney)

 – Starring George Clooney and Sandra Bullock. Directed by Alfonso Cuaron.

Production Budget: $100 Million — Opening Weekend Budget: $55.8 Million.

Ratings

Rotten Tomatoes: 97%

MetaCritic: 96/100

Lazy Goomba: 8.5/10

 

Plot Summary

Dr. Ryan Stone (Bullock) sets out on her first shuttle mission with a soon-to-be retired astronaut Matt Kowalsky working on his last mission. On what is usually a routine spacewalk, chaos strikes in the form of space debris. It spirals towards them and destroys the space shuttle, leaving Stone and Kowalsky helplessly floating through the vastness of space, held together only by a single tether.

Lazy Goomba’s Thoughts

The Good: The best parts about this movies are either the special effects and the realness of how outer space appeared. Or the scenes where Bullock gets out of her space suit (just kidding…). My favorite scene is probably just the whole sequence where the debris hits and sends them into despair. This scene has so much intensity it is hard not to be white knucklin’ it in the movie theatre. Moments that bring out true emotion, especially nervousness, are always my favorite kind.

The Bad: There were certain things I noticed that may not be huge to anyone else, but I couldnt help but notice them. For one, she is in outer space, there is not gravity, so I feel logically her hair should not always be perfectly flat and done up…. Thats just me though. The worst scene has to be when George Clooney comes back to Bullock after getting seperated. They are in space…. last time I checked it’s pretty big. In the end it was all a vision of Bullock’s, but still, when I was watching it in real time and thought it was reality, I almost laughed out loud. Despite feeling like I have typed mainly negative things about this movie, you cannot deny the numbers and the ratings. It is a good movie, and an enjoyable one as well. It didn’t so much lack elements, as much as it could have just gotten rid of some of them. I would definitely suggest going and seeing it!

The “Cheesiest”:  Bullock says one of the cheesiest lines in my knowledge of cheesy lines, this was it (not word for word): As the meteors first began to be noticable from a distance Bullock jokes ” Cloudy with a chance of space debris.” It was something along those lines… if you think that is a clever line, I will fight you. This is such a serious movie and has such a dramatic tone, and then she laid that line on me and I almost walked out of the theatre.

“Not just beautiful, though–the stars are like the trees in the forest, alive and breathing. And they’re watching me.”― Haruki Murakami

Lazy Goomba
Movie Critic/Cat Enthusiast
Leave a Reply

