11: 2 Guns

2 Guns

“You’re my people and we have a code. You fight for the guy that’s fighting next to you.” – Michael “Stig” Stigman (Wahlberg)

Starring Mark Wahlberg, Denzel Washington, and Paula Patton. Directed by Baltasar Kormákur.

Production Budget: $61 Million. — Opening Weekend: $27 Million.

 

 

 

 

 

Ratings

RottenTomatoes: 64%

MetaCritic: 55/100

Lazy Goomba: 6.8/10

Plot Summary

Undercover DEA agent, Robert Trench (Washington), infiltrates and decieves a gunman named Michael Stigman (Wahlberg). Trench unfortunately doesn’t know that Stigman is actually a Naval Intelligence Agent. After committing a robery together, the two turn on eachother leaving; Stigman leaving Trench to die in the middle of nowhere as he takes of with the money they stole. As they begin to uncover the lies beneath the assignments they were recently assigned by their superiors, they realize that their biggest enemy might not be eachother.

Lazy Goomba’s Thoughts

The Good: Wahlberg and Washington deliver a high-paced thrill ride throughout this movie. There were twists that I can honestly admit I wasn’t expecting (BUT very few considering the overuse of the buddy cop scenario). Wahlberg fits the character he was playing perfectly, as did Washington. This may be because they have played that exact character in so many of their own movies, that it is imprinted in my brain that that is really who they are. I imagine Mark Wahlberg goes home after shooting a movie and literally lifts weights until his next day of shooting. But in reality, Wahlberg might just as likely go home, have a bubble bath and a nice glass of wine, and cap the night off with a nice book. WHO REALLY KNOWS?! NO ONE. Thats who. As for Washington…. He literally should just become a cop. It is his calling.

Favorites by Actors:

WahlbergThe Departed, The Other Guys, and The Fighter. –> WashingtonTraining Day, Inside Man, and American Gangster.

The Bad: So despite loving these guys, I have to say this wasn’t my favorite movie by a long shot. I thought the plot was confusing and unnecessarily complex. Once it go down to the final showdown, there were like 5 different characters I was supposed to remember. I literally didn’t know the connection between every character by the end of it. Hey, maybe I am just not smart enough to follow along, but thats my opinion.

The Cliche: Mark Wahlberg is just a cop/soldier too often, for example: Broken City, Departed, The Other Guys! He is even a cop when he does comedy. I mean look, I obviously have nothing against him playing a cop considering those are two of my favorites… but the list continues… Shooter, We Own the Night, Lone Survivor (2013), and Boogie Nights. Okay so maybe he wasn’t a cop in Boogie Nights, I just wanted to make my list longer! Because now that I think about it, hes also commonly on the opposite side of the law. I don’t know…. Try going in something without ANY action…. Oh he did Ted… Okay well lets just agree that Wahlberg is a great actor… despite any cliches. And since I dragged on so long about Wahlberg, I’ll leave it at this for Denzel Washington: 2 Guns, Taking of Pelham 1-2-3, Inside Man, Training Day, and so on. All cop movies.

 

Lazy Goomba
Movie Critic/Cat Enthusiast
One thought on “11: 2 Guns

  1. Pingback: Non-Review: 2 Guns | The Forgotten Bloggers

Leave a Reply

